Integrable Systems Group

The University of Sydney

2017 Integrable Systems Workshop

Our research

The area of integrable systems lies at the boundary of mathematics and physics.
Integrable systems are universal limiting models of science that are widely applicable. The field grew from observations of astonishingly well-ordered and predictable behaviour in certain models of nonlinear lattices used to describe the thermal properties of metals and led to the theory of solitons and completely integrable systems, one of the most profound advances of twentieth century mathematics. Reductions led to the Painlevé equations, which are canonical representations of integrable models in one dimension.

You can read more about our research on our team pages, or look at our papers.


Our team

The Integrable Systems Group currently consists of one Laureate Fellow, Nalini Joshi; a Research Associate, Milena Radnovic, two postdoctoral researchers, Pieter Roffelsen and Yang Shi; and six postgraduate students, Elynor Liu, Huda Alrashdi, Matthew Nolan, Michael Touitou, Shonal Singh, and Steven Luu.

Previous members of our group have gone on to work in research all over the world.

2017 Integrable Systems Workshop

We are hosting our fifth annual Workshop on Integrable Systems on 7 – 8 December 2017 at the School of Mathematics and Statistics, the University of Sydney.

Register by emailing the organisers at: Registrations close on 1 November 2017. You can find more information on the 2017 Integrable Systems Workshop page.

You can read information about our previous workshops:

Local blow up


In 2013 we commenced a series of workshops on integrable systems. These foster an exchange of ideas and encourage collaboration between mathematicians and research groups throughout Australia, and internationally.

2017 Integrable Systems Workshop


Upcoming visitors
Prof Kenji Kajiwara, Kyushu University, Japan, visiting in August 2017
Dr Nobutaka Nakazono, Aoyama Gakuin University, visiting in August 2017
Prof Tetsu Masuda, Aoyama Gakuin University, visiting in August 2017

Previous visitors
Prof Allan Fordy, the University of Leeds, UK, visited 2013
Associate Prof Hayato ChibaKyushu University, Japan, visited 2017
Prof Peter Clarkson, University of Kent, visited 2016
A/Prof Anton Dzhamay, the University of Northern Colorado, USA, visited 2014
Dr Claire Gilson, the University of Glasgow, UK, visited 2015
Prof Claude Viallet, the U Pierre et Marie Curie, France, visited 2014 and 2015
Prof Da-jun Zhang, Shanghai University, visited 2014, 2016 and 2017
Dr Davide Masoero, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal, visited 2015
Prof Harry Braden, the University of Edinburgh, visited 2016
Prof Frank Nijhoff, the University of Leeds, UK, visited 2015
Prof Mourad Ismail, the Université Grenoble Alpes, France, visited 2015
Prof Jarmo Hietarinta, the University of Turku, Finland, visited 2015
Prof Kenji Kajiwara, Kyushu University, Japan, visited 2013, 2016 and 2017
Dr Raphael Boll, the Technische Universität Berlin, Germany, visited 2015
A/Prof Takao Suzuki, Kindai University, visited 2016
Prof Teruhisa Tsuda, the University of Tokyo, Japan, visited 2014
Prof Walter Van Assche, the University of Leuven, Belgium, visited 2016
A/Prof Viktoria Heu, the Université de Strasbourg, France, visited 2014 and 2015
Prof Yasuhito Yamada, Kobe University, visited November 2016
A/Prof Yoshitsugu Takei, Kyoto University, visited 2013, 2015 and 2016